Dr Finlay’s Casebook comes to DVD

Jonathan Melville 18 January, 2013 0
Dr Finlay’s Casebook comes to DVD

Following a successful repeat run on BBC ALBA to celebrate its 50th anniversary in 2012, the first season of 1960s BBC drama, Dr Finlay’s Casebook, will arrive on DVD on 12 March 2013.

Dr Finlay's Casebook DVD cover

Dr Finlay’s Casebook DVD cover

Based on A.J. Cronin’s novella, Country Doctor, the series centres on a general medical practice in the fictional Scottish town of Tannochbrae during the late 1920s. Dr Alan Finlay (Bill Simpson) is a young medical student working in Tannochbrae under the tutelage of the experienced Dr Cameron (Andrew Cruikshank).

First broadcast in 1962, the series ran for eight series and 191 episodes, becoming one of the BBC’s longest running and most successful dramas.

The new DVD set will feature the first twelve episodes:

1. It’s All in the Mind
2. A Taste of Dust
3. The Quack
4. Conduct Unbecoming
5. What Money Can’t Buy
6. Cough Mixture
7. Carver Tam
8. What Women Will Do
9. Snap Diagnosis
10. The Dragon Plate
11. A Spotless Reputation
12. Behind Closed Doors

Dr Finlay’s Casebook will be released by Simply Media in a three DVD set and is available via Amazon.

Related links

Speaking our Language: An interview with BBC ALBA (Part Two)

BBC ALBA to reopen Dr Finlay’s Casebook